top of page

Social Distancing - An Introverts Perspective

Before I begin, I want to apologize in advance for writing a blog post relating to COVID-19. When I started this blog not even a week ago, I told myself that I wouldn't write anything having to do with COVID-19 because everyone's lives have already been consumed with it. I'm honestly bored with reading about it at this point. However, when this idea came to me the other day, I felt that my opinion on writing this post was stronger then my opinion on not writing about COVID-19, so here we are!


Another foreword before I begin is that I don't believe that I am a full introvert. After a long day of school, I prefer to regain my energy with myself or my family, however not with friends. I love my friends to the moon and back, but they've all gotten into the routine of asking to hang out, and me doing my reluctant, ''Yah..maybe..I'll see.'' In introvert language, that translates to ''I love you, but no.'' However during the day, I most definitely get some of my energy from other people! I'm loud, and extremely sociable, so it honestly just depends on how you define an introvert. If you define an introvert as an anti-social person, I'm definitely more of an ambivert. But if you define an introvert as a person who regains their energy at the end of the day on their own, I'm definitely more on the introvert side, with some extrovert tendencies (in latent terms, an ambivert). However even if I am an ambivert, the past 3 and a half weeks have been the most introverted and relaxing weeks of my life! This whole ''social distancing'' thing has truly brought out my inner-introvert and I wanted to share with you all my reasons as to why I feel that way, and why this time off has been so therapeutic mentally for me!


This time at home has been extremely pleasant for me for many reasons. A main one being that I don't have to go to school! Don't get me wrong, I like school! I like my teachers (most of them), my group of friends, and what I learn. However, it's just that there are so many people that I don't like, and it's just that seeing my school itself kinds makes me want to die. I can't truly describe it, what I can say though is that being home is much (much,much,much) better! I'm also thoroughly enjoying my online school! I can work on my own schedule, and have my cat sitting beside me! I'm enjoying all of the reading and knitting I'm getting done, all of the calls I'm having with my Oma, and all the walks I'm getting in too! I'm enjoying having my older brother home, all of the quality family time I'm having, all of the movies I've been watching, and all of the baking I've been completing! Put bluntly, social distancing is one of the best things that's ever happened to me! Of course, the circumstances it is taking place under are absolutely horrible, but I think of it as the silver lining to this rotten mess! Looking on the bright side of a very, very, very, dark day.


I try to think about what this is all like for complete and total extroverts. Are they bored out of their minds? Are they craving human interaction other than family? I couldn't imagine feeling that way! I'm constantly occupying my time with something, and even though I do miss my friends, we're keeping in touch and we call every day (or every other day depending on my reliability!). This has all taught me that I should totally be embracing my introvertedness during this time, and making the most of this time with my family (who I've also learned have exceptional introverted tendencies!) Everyone should be enjoying this opportunity as much as possible, especially those intro/ambiverts like myself! I also hope everybody is staying safe, healthy and relaxed! As always, thanks for reading!


Your authoress,

Anneke C. Goodwin


bottom of page