top of page

The Infuriating ''Quick and Easy'' Recipes

Hello and welcome back to my blog! Or if you are a first time reader, just welcome! I first want to apologize for my brief hiatus! Considering the times it may seem like I would have all the time in the world to write blog posts, however I've been exceptionally busy with online school, and reading A Room of One's Own by Virginia Woolf! And don't worry, as soon as I finish you will all have the pleasure of reading a blog post about it! Nevertheless, I thought today I would keep it light and easy, frivolous some might even say. So settle in, grab a snack, and enjoy, because today we have quite the rant!


Have you ever really needed a snack, however all the good stuff in your house has been demolished (maybe by your older brother who just happens to be home from university cough...cough...cough). No chips, no cookies, and maybe for some of you super-healthy freaks out there, no fruits or veggies. Your parents are doing groceries tomorrow, however you can't wait for tomorrow, you're hungry now. You could do the classic, ''check the fridge five times in ten minutes to see if anything new is there even though you know it's not'' bit, or you could search Pinterest for ''yummy quick chocolaty snacks'' (don't lie to yourself, we've all done that, I know I have). Hundreds of results come up, and suddenly your spirits are lifted with false hope! Maybe there is a possibility of a yummy snack! You scroll down until you find something intriguing and delicious sounding. It may be quick and easy fudge, or microwavable chocolate chip cookies (ok, maybe not so delicious sounding, but you're desperate!) Either way you click on it and check the recipe. Oh my gosh! You're elated by the fact that there are only three ingredients! How can this possibly be?!? Just when you're thinking that life couldn't get any better, you scroll down to read the following: Must chill in the fridge for 4 hours. Hm...what? Did I read that right? FOUR HOURS. NO! I refuse! I am hungry now and if I'm waiting four hours for crappy fudge I might as well just wait until my parents do groceries tomorrow! It either goes exactly like that or instead of there being an extremely painful amount of waiting time, they use the most random ingredient that is only found in secret foreign grocery stores on the other side of town!


Unfortunately, this is the way it goes. You know what they say, ''You don't get nothing for nothing.''However, I refuse to be a victim in these unintentional wicked games and tricks! Some day, I will write a cookbook with quick and actually easy recipes for us lazy folk who struggle to wait four hours for their ''delicious'' food. Until then, I wanted to help you all as best as I can by sharing with you a few of my favorite actually quick and easy online recipes. These have gotten me through some desperate times, and they are the only good exceptions to these fake quick and easy recipes!


The first one, truly a staple in quick and easy cooking, is the mug cake! With certain recipes, yes, sometimes they turn out disgusting, however this one never seems to fail me, or my friends at sleepovers! It's quick, easy, delicious and one of my all-time favorites! Even though it doesn't compare to my Mom's famous chocolate cake, it's the best you can get during desperate times!


This next one is one of my favorite snacks in the entire universe, and this recipe specifically has changed. my. life. These peanut butter balls are the easiest most delectable snack

ever - it is surreal! I make them at least ever other week, and I know the recipe off by heart! You put a cup of oats, 3/4 cup of peanut butter, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and two tbs of honey into a bowl, mix, form into balls, and you're done! Now this recipe says to add flax, but I ain't into that stuff! Before you call me out, yes I know you do have to chill these, but I swear to you it's ten minutes to chill max! They are so worth the wait and you can even eat a few un-chilled if you're really starving and don't mind them a little soft because the chilling is just to keep the peanut butter together!


This final recipe is more open ended as it's really up to you what you choose to do with it! A quick and easy reliable snack is a smoothie! Now some may argue and say it's more of a drink then a snack, but those people can leave my blog now :). You can put anything in a smoothie and they literally take two minutes. There are hundreds of smoothie recipes out there, so take a look! You won't be disappointed!


As always, thank you for reading! I hope you enjoy my little rants as much as I do!


Your authoress,

Anneke C. Goodwin





(me being desperate for a yummy snack ;p)

bottom of page