top of page

Why am I a Feminist? The Opinion of a 14 Year Old

Why am I a feminist? Good question. Let me just say that it is not for the right to carry around a bag that says FEMINIST on it because if there is one thing I must stress it is that, (deep breath in) WEARING FEMINIST MERCH DOESN'T MAKE YOU A FEMINIST! I can be an arrogant white male and still have a mug that says ''I am a FEMINIST'' at home. They don't do a background check before you buy one of those! (Coming back to my main train of thought...) I'm a feminist for many reasons, because the gender pay gap is still a thing, because women are stereotyped horribly in film, because I go to public school and I've seen first hand the lack of support girls my age give each other, because the USA has never had a female President and so, so many more reasons.


Let's take a step back to what I said about girls my age and support. I'm a teenage girl in a public school. I have first hand experience about how mean and horrible girls can be to each other, even in this day in age. Feminism is about the union of women, not the separation and tear down. Myself and all the girls I go to school with are the future of our female global society. It's our job to make the world a better and more accepting place for women, a place where I will get paid the same as my male equal. However one of my greatest fears is that these young girls who will have the weight of the feminist reputation on their future shoulders, will not be able to come and stand alongside other girls without tinges of jealously or selfishness. If we don't teach these women how to be feminists, they never will become feminists. If we continue to let them put down other girls in return for their own confidence, instead of teaching them to support girls and to be confident, feminism as we know it is a goner. Kapish? Ughhhh ok, ok, ok, rant officially over!


Feminism in general is honestly one of the most important, fundamental belief systems to ever exist and be prepared to read a lot more feminist centered rants coming from this blog!

Thanks for listening to me blabber whoever you are!

Your authoress,

Anneke C. Goodwin



bottom of page